Unbeaten Ton By Dhruv Rahul Helps Patiala Annexe M.L. Markan Trophy (Under – 16)



Patiala defeated Amritsar District by 4 wickets on the 4<sup>th</sup> day of M.L. Markan U-16 finals played at I.S. Bindra Stadium PCA Mohali. Resuming at overnight 246 for 6 Amritsar were bowled out for 274 in 114 overs. Overnight not out batsman Manroop Singh (101) and Arshdeep Singh (21) took the score to 268 when Manroop Singh was castled by Harjas after making 112 off 205 balls inclusive of 5 boundaries with teams total reading 268 for 7 in 110.3 overs. The dismissal of Arshdeep triggered a collapse as Amritsar lost their last 3 wickets for addition of 6 runs in 3.3 overs. Akashdeep Singh was trapped in front by Emanjot Singh before the batsman could open his account and Anirudh was bowled by Harjas for zero. Fatehdeep Singh was run out by Jatin Yadav for 01 while Arshdeep remained unbeaten on 35 off 158 balls with 3 boundaries. Amritsar innings ended at 274 in 114 overs. For Patiala the bowling honours were shared by Emanjot Singh 3 for 43, Harjas Singh 2 for 74 Kabir Garg 2 for 55 and Vanshish 1 for 55.

Needing 202 for an outright win Patiala opened with Divyansh Garg and Siddharth Kathuria. Manroop Singh drew the first blood for Amritsar as he had Divyansh Garg snapped by wicket keeper Arshdeep for 01 with the score reading 3 for 01 in 4.2 overs. Thereafter Siddharth

Katuria and Jatin Yadav put on 17 runs for the 2<sup>nd</sup> wicket before Jatin Yadav was trapped in front by Akashdeep for 11 off 26 balls with 2 boundaries. Dhruv Rahul now joined Siddharth Kathuria and the two put on 34 runs for the 3<sup>rd</sup> wicket before Siddharth Kathuria was caught by Sandeep Nishad off Fatehdeep for 25 off 92 balls with one boundary. Kabir Garg was the next to go being caught by wicket keeper Arshdeep off Akashdeep for 02 reducing Patiala to 61 for 4 in 33.3 overs. At this stage Jaskirat Singh joined Dhruv Rahul and the two took upon the task of retrieving the situation for their team by putting on 104 runs for the 5<sup>th</sup> wicket before Jaskirat Singh was caught by Manroop off Fatehdeep for 32 off 75 balls with 5 boundaries. The 5<sup>th</sup> wicket fell at the score of 165 in 58.5 overs. Fatehdeep struck again having got Ekampreet Singh caught by Manroop before the batsman could open his account. Dhruv Rahul and Harjas Singh then added 26 runs for the unbroken 7<sup>th</sup> wicket stand to see their team reach the winning target of 205 for loss of 6 wickets in 70.3 overs. Dhruv Rahul hit a purposeful unbeaten century (117) off 170 balls with 17 boundaries while Harjas Singh remained unbeaten on 13. The bowling honours for Amritsar were shared by Fatgehdeep 3 for 67, Akashdeep 2 for 73, Manroop Singh 1 for 25.

Mr. R.P. Singla Hony. Secretary, PCA gave away the winners trophy and a cash prize of Rs.1.00 to the Winning team of Patiala District while Amritsar district was given a cash prize of Rs.50,000/-.